Tuesday, February 23, 2010

Reid Names Durbin, Baucus, Conrad to Deficit Commission

Via Politico:
Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid (D-Nev.) announced Tuesday night that he has appointed Majority Whip Dick Durbin (D-Ill), Finance Committee Chairman Max Baucus (D-Mont.) and Budget Committee Chairman Kent Conrad (D-N.D.) to President Barack Obama's deficit commission.
There will be 18 commission members in all, 4 of those will be appointed by Obama and 6 by republicans, 6 by democrats. Erskine Bowles and Alan Simpson are heading the commission, which aims to come up with a plan to solve our deficit woes by Dec. 1.